Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Toyota Sequoia
Occupation
Consultant
Here is what CS told me recently:

Thank you for reaching out to the Customer Engagement Center. We are happy to be here to help you along your journey with Rivian. That is a great question! Yes, Rivian vehicles have an integrated brake controller that utilizes a 7-pin connector. It will not be something that you will have to purchase separate or have installed. This will be standard for both models moving forward!
I am not an expert on trailers and towing, I currently tow a 7,000 pound boat / trailer using my Toyota Sequoia. My trailer brakes work using the trailer tongue - compression brakes. In this setup, the trailer has a simple electronic circuit so that when you're backing up (compresses the tongue) it knows NOT to apply the brakes. The signal from the truck comes through the connector for the backup lights on the trailer and to disable the tongue compression brakes.

What I believe they are saying with this statement is that the R1T/R1S have this same feature. I wouldn't assume that there's some fancy controller the vehicle provides in terms of applying the trailer brakes while moving forward.

Just my read of it, could be wrong.
Sponsored

CommodoreAmiga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
INACTIVE
I am not an expert on trailers and towing, I currently tow a 7,000 pound boat / trailer using my Toyota Sequoia. My trailer brakes work using the trailer tongue - compression brakes. In this setup, the trailer has a simple electronic circuit so that when you're backing up (compresses the tongue) it knows NOT to apply the brakes. The signal from the truck comes through the connector for the backup lights on the trailer and to disable the tongue compression brakes.

What I believe they are saying with this statement is that the R1T/R1S have this same feature. I wouldn't assume that there's some fancy controller the vehicle provides in terms of applying the trailer brakes while moving forward.