First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla P100D, 98 TJ, Silverado SS, 18 Camaro 2SS
Occupation
IT
Lots of typical posts of people going speed limit or close to it getting great mi/kwh. But I'm curious what people get for efficiency going 80ish mph; my standard road trip cruise control setting.
Sponsored

NC-Rivian

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
LA Silver R1T
Occupation
Sales
Here's my rule of thumb: you can drive a little slower, get there a little later, and spend less time at the charging stop. *OR* you can drive faster, get there faster, and spend longer charging - unless your speed will require an extra stop when your mi/KWh drops below 2. it's really a wash most times. (I'm a pilot and I have to make similar decisions every trip I make => speed vs. fuel consumption.)

OP
OP

loudog3114

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Occupation
IT
Here's my rule of thumb: you can drive a little slower, get there a little later, and spend less time at the charging stop. *OR* you can drive faster, get there faster, and spend longer charging - unless your speed will require an extra stop when your mi/KWh drops below 2. it's really a wash most times. (I'm a pilot and I have to make similar decisions every trip I make => speed vs. fuel consumption.)
Yep, totally agreed. I've had several ev's and generally can still settle around 75-80 (usually at 78) to still get efficient numbers. For example my P100D will do as good as 3.5 mi/kw from 75-80 once everything is warm. Generally my speeding is more about being able to drive lazily in the left lane instead of dealing with the occasional 50mph boomer in the middle lane.

Sponsored

OP
OP

loudog3114

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Occupation
IT
On the 20s you will get between 1.8-2 mi/kWh at around 80 mph in my experience.
Good info, thanks. About what I figured. 240-260 miles from 100%. Gonna make my annual 2400 mile road trip take a while. Ah well.