Sponsored

Thinking about adding a hitch mounted Winch to my R1S. Have some questions....

Nine_One_Six_R1S

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
N/A
Clubs

Hi, I have been thinking about adding a hitch mounted winch to our R1S. I have gone on a few offorad trips already and I think If I had a winch it would have made for much nicer days.

Problem is I have very little experience with winches in general. I see the synthetic rope winch from HF going for around $530 on sale. And christmas is coming up so I am trying to convince myself this is a nice present for me. :cool: They also have a nice hitch mount with handles. This solution appears to be ~50% less than a similar Warn solution.

So I have some questions, hopefully there are some people here with more experience or who have gone thru this path.

1. Choice of winch. I want synthetic rope as I read it's safer just in case it snaps. It's also lighter than wire rope but comes at an extra cost. Anyone have experience with this winch from HF?

2. What about power? How would you power this? I am assuming that the R1S 12V battery is probably too weak for this. Is the best way just to have a stand alone battery? What specs should I aim for in a stand-alone battery? Manual for the winch recommends 650CCA but that is probably with ICE in mind.

3. Assume I have a standalone battery with say 100 Ah capacity? how much run time can I expect if my winch of choice? manual states ~450A for 12,000 lbs and 350A for 6,000 lbs.

4. Could the outlet in the R1S back be used for charging/recharging the battery on the spot using a 120V car battery charger? 10A would probably be the limit since the outlet is 1500W, does this sound right?

This would probably also change the angle on the rear but I plan on having this as a portable solution and either having this mounted just for trips and see if I have any issues. Worst case I can just put it in the trunk and mount if needed.