Sponsored

Back-and-forth between R1T (quad-motor) vs. Cybertruck (tri-motor)

Spvrtan

First Name
Kris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Toyota Tundra, Tesla Model Y
I reserved the day after the Cybertruck announcement. I configured my Cyberbeast on Jan 25th this year. I was hell-bent on going with the CB up until recently. Now I'm considering just going with the R1T in quad configuration. I'd be curious to hear opinions from others that went through this conversation in their head.

Background: I have plenty of experience offroading and working with trucks. I already have a dedicated vehicle -- a Toyota Tundra (supercharged V8) -- that I use for recreation and truck things or for towing. So I wouldn't really be getting either EV to replace that and it'd be more for a daily driver and hobby vehicle (even though I work remotely 3 days of the week). And we already have a Model Y in the family. I also do my own metal fabrication and will probably make some things for the CB (eg. bumpers, body panels). Probably going to make a trailer to tow behind the CB or R1T with a bunch of solar panels and a battery system for charging while camping, too.
https://www.instagram.com/spvrtan/p/Coi6YDHrW9t/
https://www.instagram.com/spvrtan/p/Cm1nCK6L4wg/

Here're my thoughts so far.

R1T (quad)
  • Interior and exterior appeal to me more.
  • Truck bed is smaller but more accessible.
  • Gear tunnel is pretty slick.
  • Now has access to Tesla's charging network.
  • Traditional mechanical steering system, which is more reliable (and fixable) when offroading.
  • Specs/numbers seem to take a huge dump when going to 35" tires from ~32s; probably more significant than a CB going to 37s from 35s.
  • Rivian feels more marketed toward general outdoor enthusiasts.
  • Battery pack isn't upgradable.
  • I hear the body panels are just as expensive to replace since it's a unibody vehicle with large single panels. I couldn't easily make my own panels out of metal like I could with the CT.