First Name
A. J.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla XLR+2019, Lexus, Landcruiser, R1T
Occupation
EE Retired
I'll start by noting that the grizzi charger linked to in the last post clearly plugs in and delivers up to 10 kW to one car. It can't do that in compliance with the code because it would have to draw 41.7 A from a 14-50R and under code it is limited to 40. That's not the thing I really want to emphasize in this post but it is illustrative of what I'm after here.

So let's go on to more elaborate schemes that involve charging more than one vehicle. What can you expect to be able to do in this regard with the service you have? I'm an engineer and I can't answer that question. Who can? An electrician familiar with the code and, more important, familiar with the way the local inspectors interpret it a large part of which is, of course, familiarity with the local inspectors. My electrician took this to extremes by getting his son a job as an inspector but that's not necessary (and he can't inspect any of Alan's work which I am sure you are all happy to hear) but if I tell him I want to do something he knows whether it will fly or not. This familiarity is 2 way. Your success is dependent on the inspectors knowing the electrician too. They know whose work they can be confident in and whose they can't. This all comes down to the necessity of finding a good electrician and getting him on board early. I wish I had an easy formula for finding a good electrician but I don't. You just have to keep looking til you find one and hope the search isn't punctuated by too many disasters.
Sponsored

OP
OP

BigSkies

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T, Model Y
Clubs

All good info. Thanks everyone! I've been overthinking this a lot, and the end result will clearly be determined by how much room an electrician says I have.