How Would Rivian Earn Back Your Trust?

garthkoyle

First Name
Garth
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
14' Honda Odyssey, 2020 Lincoln Navigator L Reserve
I'm a business owner myself, and I know you have to disappoint (SOME) customers all the time. But their actions toward current reservation holders is betrayal.

To earn back my trust, they will need to do some (maybe all) of these things:
  1. Explain who made this decision and why.
  2. Offer an apology for how their thinking and approaches were wrong (especially when other executives were telling the story that they were focusing on 10% market share, not profits by 2030). In 2020, there were over 2 million EVs sold. So, a 10% market share is 200,000 vehicles. With growth, that'll have to be closer to 400-500k vehicles annually. They don't have the reservations, orders, nor capacity to achieve that goal. And now they betray their early customers and brand ambassadors.
  3. Reverse course on the price increase, or have a much more realistic price increase that is more believable to be attributed to "inflation"; especially for LE reservation holders. And/or include the Max Pack battery for free. The other adventure gear is replaceable via third parties and overpriced from Rivian.

What about you? How could they earn back your trust?
Sponsored

kurtlikevonnegut

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T QM, Honda Odyssey
Clubs

Follow through on their existing promises and adjusted pricing. I'm ok with ripping off the band aid, but only if it means that you have a solution in place that addresses the root problem.

AdamsFan1983

First Name
Silence Dogood
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T LE in GW
Occupation
Public Relations
They won’t try, it occurred to me this am this is by design. In a battery constrained world, this is how they meet their contract obligations to Amazon.

ironpig

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 R1T LE, 2015 4Runner, 1975 FJ55 Land Cruiser