Sponsored

Real Rivian Photos & Videos

CommodoreAmiga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
INACTIVE
All we can do is speculate, but again, being an optimist, I'm wondering if EPA questioned Rivian's range/efficiency claims and wanted additional data to back up claim that Rivian had not collected, or collected sufficiently according to EPA. I have never submitted a system for EPA certification, but assume there is likely some extrapolation of real world test data which EPA would want keep as minimal as possible. Interpolation is generally safe, extrapolation can get dangerous quickly and the EPA (and US GOV for that matter) are risk adverse by nature.
I have no experience with EPA testing, so this is all just pulled from my cake-area....

However, it has been my impression that the EPA testing did rely/trust the manufacturers to mostly self-regulate. That's why we saw manufacturers like VW game the system, and Tesla's EPA results are so much more "optimistic" compared to other brands.
Sponsored

DuckTruck

First Name
Duck
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Corvair, BMW325, Acura Legend, XC60, '16 Caddy ELR
Clubs

And the award for most overly tested new product goes to... RIVIAN!, and the lineup of R1 vehicles!
@DuckTruck did you secretly take the open position for director of unusual testing?
I've applied for it, and I'd love that job! But again, while my new phone remains fully charged, I'M STILL WAITING FOR A CALL FROM RIVIAN!!!
ANY CALL!!!

Whew.... Now I feel better!
?

SeaGeo

First Name
Brice
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Xc60 T8
Occupation
Engineer
The EPA system is done on a Dyno. If they use the 5 cycle test (which Tesla does) they can include coefficients from real world data. If I recall correctly from reading the rules, if the use real world coefficients, they need to submit those to the EPA for approval.