Quick Overview

Category
RIVIAN CLUBS / GROUPS
Language
English (US)
Total members
Total events
Total views
Newbie here. Picked up my R1S a few weeks back.
I park and plug in my garage and preheat the vehicle. I do only drive about 17 miles to work and mix of highway and roads. I am only averaging 1.4-1.5 miles/kwH or max 200 miles of total full charge range.
I realize there are a ton of variables involved with range and this is just driving in standard mode.
Just curious if others are experiencing similar efficiency with our temperatures and driving conditions as this seems really low.
Show full message
bd5400
bd5400
Yes, this is pretty common for me in winter. Efficiency is pretty bad for the first part of the drive but improves over longer distances.

This might improve in the next update. At this time, the truck will pre-heat from the battery, not the wall connection even when plugged in. That kills efficiency in the morning. As of the next update, it’s supposed to pull from the wall if you pre-heat the cabin.
Shill2801
Shill2801
@bd5400 Yeah, I’m very curious to see how the next update improves things. The first 20 minutes of driving over the past month or so has been crummy efficiency, but it improves after that.
Citrinite
I have a dual motor r1t and I see similar behavior but the efficiency typically improves as I drive. That said it usually doesn't take 20 minutes. For example, this morning, after around 5-10 minutes the efficiency improved to over 2.0 miles/kwh while highway driving (~60 mph). All I did this morning was turn the cabin heater, seats, steering wheel on a few minutes before I left. The truck was parked outside.
mrodriguez