Sponsored

Roach

First Name
Cody
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2015 Ford Escape, (Pre-Order: Rivian R1T)
Occupation
Engineer / Project Manager
Preorder:

I was an early preorder holder (2018) and finally received my R1T on 13 June 2022.
I was keyed into the LA Auto show by a friend, and while I appreciate EVs for what they are, as an Engineer and Economist I am not dogmatic about things like EV vs ICE. I know these are tradeoff. But what I saw proposed at the LA Auto show in 2018 showed an incredible amount of promise, thought, capability, and was wrapped in a nifty looking package with luxury slathered on to boot!

Expectations:
I expected them to not meet schedule goals, and I expected them to miss some capability/specification promises. I work on big complex projects at the forefront of development and know that is reality. So while I lament that the electrochromic dimming roof was scrapped, the Fronk got smaller, the charge port on both sides disappeared, Level 5 Automated Driving was no longer promised (but still aspirational?) that the payload weight rating is smaller than expected, and the charging network has been behind in numbers and schedules. It is still doing a dang good job with what they have and continue to achieve! If they didn't dare to dream big, they wouldn't have made it this far. And we all see they are going further!

Delivery: