Sponsored

Tire advice - 20AT - options for onroad / all weather tires

DB-EV

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1s
Hey all!

I am excited with what I saw in Rivian's S-1, and while the company has not communicated well since RJ's summer letter, I feel confident I will get a LE R1s by June. My question for this group relates to how to think about a second set of tires that would be road friendly, roughly like the 21s if I get the 'free' 20 upgrade available to LE holders.

Question: If I get the 20 wheels with the AT tires (which are so beastly and awesome in person but I guess will get around 280 miles, or 300 in conserve) but then want to buy road/all weather tires for that 20 inch wheel, is that relatively easy to do? Is it just a matter of either switching the tires onto the wheel or paying a mechanic to do it?

Thanks in advance.

Facts:

In the summer I would love to have the ATs, and in the winter all weathers that are more mileage friendly.

I am a tire novice. I have a CRV where all i have to do is buy tires every 5 years, and a second car that largely sits in the drive way so tires never get changed.

I'll be driving the R1s 240mi shots in the winter one way many weekends to ski/get to the mountains from metro NY, vast majority on Interstates.
Sponsored

sub

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1S, Tesla Model 3
The 20-inch tires are very common size. It will be easy to find All season tire to fit. From that perspective your plan is fine.

But It feels like you have it backwards. If I had a set of all season and a set of all terrain tires, it's not the all-season tires that I would choose for the ski trip. For the ski trip I would definitely want the all-terrain or even better real snow tires. While some extra range would be nice, your range in the winter is probably going to suck either way and traction in the snow (safety) seems more important then range (convenience) for a ski trip.