Sponsored
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla S
Far far less lateral stress than being ridden in a lot of situations.
I'm not an engineer, but I don't think there really isn't that much lateral stress while riding. Even in turns, most if not all stress goes down through the wheels and tires. If there was much lateral stress, I would think that riders would be falling all the time.

Isn't that the case with every hitch mounted bike rack in the market?
Good point! Although a lot, 50% +/-, of the bike is usually hidden by the car or tailgate.
Sponsored

AllInev

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Prius V, R1T
I know right! How are they going to lock the tailgate in the down position?
From the source/article: "The patent also outlines some ā€œlocking mechanism ā€¦ attached to the vehicle bumper, to fix the tailgate in a locked horizontal position when the cargo securing system is being used.ā€ So, if youā€™re carrying your fancy-pants road bike ā€” or two! ā€” there may be a mechanism to keep the tailgate from bouncing and jostling the bikes as you drive."

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
I'm not an engineer, but I don't think there really isn't that much lateral stress while riding. Even in turns, most if not all stress goes down through the wheels and tires. If there was much lateral stress, I would think that riders would be falling all the time.

Good point! Although a lot, 50% +/-, of the bike is usually hidden by the car or tailgate.
Iā€™m not an engineer either, but cycling Is one of my primary activities and I have too many bikes. There is lots of lateral stress on bicycles when they are ridden. It is not and cannot be isolated to the wheels and tires.
Lateral stiffness is a big thing. One of my older full suspension bikes has so much lateral flex in the swingarm that the tire will rub under cornering, even leaned over.