CommodoreAmiga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
INACTIVE
The frunk is not secure to someone with google:
Screen Shot 2021-11-29 at 2.24.21 PM.png
That'd be a pretty targeted attack.

For most people, the only security needed is to be a harder target than the people around you. It'll be unlikely thieves target stuff they can't see and don't know you have.

louisdeg

First Name
Louis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T Red Canyon/Forest Edge, 21” wheels
Occupation
Home inspector
Stuff there would be out of sight...similarly with the frunk. One advantage might be that tweekers might not know about gear tunnels. No car is secure from a crow bar, of course, but I'm going with the gear tunnel as secure.
You would be surprised how hard it is to break into a locked door on a vehicle with no glass to shatter. I’m a rescue squad firefighter and it takes quite a bit of effort to break the locking system on a car door, hood or lift gate- even with hydraulic rescue tools. Using a crowbar would take quite a while.

Ladiver

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
GMC 3500, Corvette Z06, Rivian R1T, Rivian R1S
Clubs

Have we confirmed that? I know there's an emergency-release button, by law, so that a trapped human can get out. Is this disabled when the tonneau is open? Or could someone reach over the bed rail when the tonneau is open and push the button to drop the tailgate?
Do we know if the emergency release is for the tailgate or the tonneau cover. I have never had an emergency release for a tailgate. I have had releases for the rolling tonneau covers.

Is the cover metal/plastic slats or fabric?

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
Do we know if the emergency release is for the tailgate or the tonneau cover. I have never had an emergency release for a tailgate. I have had releases for the rolling tonneau covers.

Is the cover metal/plastic slats or fabric?
The release is for the tailgate.

Sponsored

Ladiver

First Name
Jeff