Sponsored

therealhoff

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 R1T, 2015 Tacoma Sport, 2021 Explorer ST
Occupation
SW Engineer
Since a lot of what I read in the forums was freaking me out before I took delivery, I figured I'd write up a quick summary of what I have experienced in the first week of Rivian R1T ownership. I am also new to EV ownership.

Before delivery: I ordered the wall charger and it showed up 3 days before the delivery date for the vehicle. I had an electrician come out last week and do an estimate for the wiring and install and he's coming back later this week to do the work. If I had to do it over again, I would have the electrician come estimate the work well before the delivery so the install can happen very shortly after the wall charger shows up.

Delivery:
Guy showed up, I signed a couple things so they could register the truck in my name, he spent 30 minutes going over stuff, and I told him to hit the road. I'd already done a first drive and spent way too much time reading material so I had a reasonable idea of how most things worked. The little tutorial in the App is plenty to get you on the road as a daily driver. Since a lot of early issue reports have been with the tonneau cover, I tested that in front of him and on the second cycle of open and close, it stopped an inch and a half from going all the way closed. After reading up on the forums, if you hold the button down when it's closing, it will go all the way closed. That worked after the fact but I did open up a service ticket in the app. The truck came at about 80% charged with ~230 miles estimated range.