Recovery/tow strap recommendations?

lostpacket

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Crosstrek, R1T
Occupation
Software Engineer
This year has been a particularly bad mud season and I was thinking it's past due I grabbed a recovery/tow strap to keep with me just in case. Ideally I would like to get one strong enough for the R1T so I could keep it when I swap my subaru for an R1T.

Anyone got any advice on what to get here? Do I need something custom for either the subaru (crosstrek) or rivian?

Any advice is appreciated. I am pretty new to towing things, (I usually just abandon cars whenever the wheels slip and buy a new one).

For reference, here's a pic of our mud season this year:
Rivian R1T R1S Recovery/tow strap recommendations? 1648065018353
Sponsored

Last edited:

av8or

First Name
Randall
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2020 Jeep Wrangler, 2023 Rivian R1T
Occupation
FedEx Retired
Clubs

My favorite is a kinetic rope. They are great at extraction, but also ok for short tows.

edit, any brand in my opinion, but Yankum Ropes is popular.

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
Rivian’s off road recovery kit has a 30’ Factor 55 strap, they’re very nice.

EVnewb

First Name
Dustin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Sienna, Tesla MYP, R1T
Bubba Ropes are pretty good. A few guys have them back home and they haven’t had one fail yet. It’s a kinetic rope, like what av8or mentioned, so they stretch a bit like a rubber band. Really gives you an extra bit of oomph for extraction when someone is buried in the mud. Non-stretch ropes, cables, and chains are better for towing or light pulls out of a ditch/snow.

moosehead

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
‘22 Ioniq 5, ‘78 Jeep Wagoneer
I'm a bit agnostic on brand, but would recommend using a heavier duty version (7500lbs+) with canvas loops at each end rather than metal hooks. Metal devices can become projectiles if something gives.