Sponsored

Recommendations for towing a snowmobile?

lostpacket

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Crosstrek, R1T
Occupation
Software Engineer
Hi folks, I am new to towing, and trucks, and snowmobiling in general so would love any recommendations or tips for towing a snowmobile. I am about to put a preorder in for a taiga electric snowmobile. I think I would lean towards a open trailer but happy to hear pros and cons. They list the weight at about 600lbs so x2 of those would put me just north of 1200lbs

Someday I could see also towing a jetski, and would like the option of towing things like plywood and other construction bits if I needed to. But again, happy to hear any pointers. Thanks!
Sponsored

Last edited:

the long way downunder

First Name
Adam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla
Occupation
WFH
Hi folks, I am new to towing, and trucks, and snowmobiling in general so would love any recommendations or tips for towing a snowmobile. I am about to put a preorder in for a taiga electric snowmobile. I think I would lean towards a open trailer but happy to hear pros and cons. They seems to weight about 600lbs so x2 of those would put me just north of 1200lbs

Someday I could see also towing a jetski, and would like the option of towing things like plywood and other construction bits if I needed to. But again, happy to hear any pointers. Thanks!
I pre-ordered the Taiga (snowmobile and watercraft) "day one" with the idea of towing behind an electric pickup to a pristine clear lake …
I think you can handle it a couple of ways. I like an aero enclosed snowmobile trailer (which I've used behind a Model X since 2016) and that works fine … wide tires, low profile, aero, single axle, all aluminum, light.) But I think Triton stopped making the trailer I was using years ago (it's basically this trailer with a fiberglass cap that hinges front and rear on gas struts.)
https://www.tritontrailers.com/snowmobile/open/