R1S test drive - My honest opinion

shamoo

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Porsche 911 GT3, Tesla Model S LR
Occupation
Cybersecurity
I was lucky enough to be invited to an R1S test drive last week at my local Costa Mesa, California center. I typically never test drive any vehicles I'm interested in since I research specs, "quirks and features", and other things quite extensively. The quality of the ride itself never matter to me since I'm used to sports cars. I typically prefer a harder/harsher ride vs. a floaty/comfy one. But hey, I had some time, so why not try out the Rivian. Plus I have limited experience with EVs (my first EV is a 2022 Tesla Model S which I received only a few weeks ago). I do have a couple of friends who work at Rivian and I've been driven around in a couple of R1Ts (but never drove myself).

Outside of the Venice, CA hub invite to check out the R1S several months ago and a few sightings around my area, this is my only experience with the R1S.

I'm an enthusiast, in my 40s, and owned multiple types of fun vehicles over the years. I recently sold my BMW X5M which I would say *should* be the closest competitor I've owned to the R1S (with the exception of its non-existing offroad capability). It was fast (~570hp, twin turbo V8, etc). Despite its heavy weight, it handled like a sports car if you were willing to bring it to its limits. Other ones I've experienced (but not owned) are Audi RSQ5, multiple variants AMG SUVs, and the Range Rover SVR. They all have similar driving dynamics...but far different than the Rivian as you'll read below.

My main reason for interest in the Rivian is I want an SUV (room for family/dog/storage) and I want power. For the first time, the option for off-road is possible whereas it was never possible in the past for high horsepower luxury/sport SUVs. Their large brakes do not allow for beefy tires.