First Name
Silence Dogood
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T LE in GW
Occupation
Public Relations
Rivian R1T R1S Local CT dealer files suit to kill approved Connecticut Rivian service center 1675770671092

Jamuso

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Ridgeline
Occupation
Sr software engineer - manager
This is ridiculous. As a CT resident, I'd love to go to Shelton vs. Chelsea Ma.

COdogman

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 R1T
Occupation
Dog Wrangler
Dealerships and state dealers associations are nothing more than a protection racket.

Sponsored

CommodoreAmiga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
INACTIVE
I would love for a rational explanation of how dealerships are good for consumers. There won't be one though, because dealerships are NOT good for consumers. Choice is good for consumers.
I'd argue that dealerships can be good... But what is not good is forcing only the dealership franchise model. I would argue that letting Tesla/Rivian/Lucid do the direct-to-consumer approach while also allowing manufacturers to choose to use the dealer franchise model is best. Choice is best.

Donald Stanfield

First Name
Donald
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T, 2024 BMW i4 M50
Occupation
Stuff and things
I'd argue that dealerships can be good... But what is not good is forcing only the dealership franchise model. I would argue that letting Tesla/Rivian/Lucid do the direct-to-consumer approach while also allowing manufacturers to choose to use the dealer franchise model is best. Choice is best.
How can dealerships be good? I’m genuinely interested because I got nothing. I will agree that choice is best, but only one side of this thing is trying to force their will on others. I don’t see Rivian or Tesla or anyone else campaigning to shut down dealerships but I do see dealerships trying to ban direct sales.