Sponsored

Is 70% the best charge limit?

Riviot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

So after a week with the R1T, my first electric vehicle, I'm still learning charging patterns, frequencies, and needs. I generally only drive Friday-Sunday right now, my current commute is mostly bicycle and public transit. My understanding is: stay outside of 0-20% and 80-100% for routine use and you're good. Is this true? Can I charge to 70% and let it sit for a week? Or should I leave it at 35% for the week?

Once again, I believe there's folks smarter and more experienced than me on this subject happy to give their input, and I'm happy to listen! ?
Sponsored

C.R. Rivian

First Name
Charles
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Kia Niro EV...R1T Launch Edition
Occupation
retired
So after a week with the R1T, my first electric vehicle, I'm still learning charging patterns, frequencies, and needs. I generally only drive Friday-Sunday right now, my current commute is mostly bicycle and public transit. My understanding is: stay outside of 0-20% and 80-100% for routine use and you're good. Is this true? Can I charge to 70% and let it sit for a week? Or should I leave it at 35% for the week?

Once again, I believe there's folks smarter and more experienced than me on this subject happy to give their input, and I'm happy to listen! ?
I have a 2019 Kia Niro EV and typically charge to 80%...I don't think there is any deficit to letting it sit around. In the Niro EV, the main battery recharges the 12 volt if the 12 volt gets too low. There is, of course, always some battery drain...security system, etc. I assume a similar setup in the R1T.

NorthernOak

First Name
Brandon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla Model 3
Clubs

Screenshot direct from the Owners Manual
Rivian R1T R1S Is 70% the best charge limit? 1648825858292

NorthernOak

First Name
Brandon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla Model 3
Clubs