Andystroh

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

I am far from an expert when it comes to taxes - but I am in the '8 steps' right now and the tax rate seems crazy high compared to what I am used to paying for cars. I live in an 'unincorporated' region within Jefferson County CO, and while my address typically includes 'Golden, CO', I am not in the city of Golden, and in the past have not paid city of Golden sales tax on vehicles, which puts me at 4.5%. My purchase summary page shows a tax rate of 7.5%, including a city sales tax (of exactly what Golden, CO has).

I wanted to post to:
1. If I am missing something either specific to Rivian or a change that has occurred in the last 12 months
2. Remind others to maybe double check this rate? Perhaps it would be worked out before purchase, but I was about to go through the finance section and would rather not do that with incorrect numbers.
Sponsored

CommodoreAmiga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
INACTIVE
Tax was wrong on my first set of paperwork. My city spans two counties, and they picked the wrong one. Not sure why they aren’t validating addresses…. Anyway, had to redo the paperwork. Contact your guide if you think it’s wrong.

OP
OP
Andystroh

Andystroh

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

Tax was wrong on my first set of paperwork. My city spans two counties, and they picked the wrong one. Not sure why they aren’t validating addresses…. Anyway, had to redo the paperwork. Contact your guide if you think it’s wrong.
Thanks, already did. Mostly just wanted to verify it is not a perfect system which it sounds like it is not. Thanks for the reassurance.

OP
OP
Andystroh

Andystroh

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

Sponsored

The J-Man

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 R1T, 2020 BMW X5 M50