Ladiver

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
GMC 3500, Corvette Z06, Rivian R1T, Rivian R1S
Clubs

I am not an electrician but will hire one to do the job. I am just curious if this wiring would work or if I need another selector switch? Can you even have a 14-50r on a 60A breaker? NO I know I could not use the outlet and the wall charger at the same time. They would not be. The outlet would be installed first with the wall charger added at a later date.

Using 4AWG from a 60A 50A breaker to safety cutoff to J box where two sources go out to the Rivian Wall Charger and a NEMA 14-50 receptacle?

Rivian R1T R1S Home Charger Wiring, Does This Work? RIV Wiring.JPG
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP
Ladiver

Ladiver

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Clubs

Found my own answer, I can not use a 14-50r with a 60A breaker. So, the next part in question is the junction box. Can a 14-50R or wall charger connect in a junction box, or does the wire need to go all the way back to the breaker?

Joneholland

First Name
Jon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
You need to be a dedicated circuit for both. You can’t have an outlet and hardwire to the box. This won’t pass inspection anywhere.

AdamsFan1983

First Name
Silence Dogood
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T LE in GW
Occupation
Public Relations
no; the charger requires a dedicated 60 amp circuit. Additionally, the charger does not take 4 wires- you don't need the neutral. It requires 2 hot wires and a ground.

ajdelange

First Name
A. J.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla XLR+2019, Lexus, Landcruiser, R1T
Occupation
EE Retired
To do what you have pictured you will need a 100 A breaker in your main panel wired with AWG 3 to a sub panel in the garage. The sub panel has 2 breakers 50 A each, one to the EVSE and one to the 14-50R. The EVSE must be commissioned for a 50 A breaker meaning max charging rate of 40 A.