Sponsored

DIY/How-To: Copy/Clone TPMS

camaroz1985

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Threads
9
Messages
521
Reaction score
528
Location
Carlisle, PA
Vehicles
R1T, ID.4
Occupation
Engineer
I know others have posted some details on this, but I wanted to give a little more detail now that I have bought the parts and tools and completed the copy. Really these pictures are more than you need, the tool walks you through everything.

Disclaimer: I am not a trained mechanic or tire repair/install specialist. I am a DIY mechanic. If you are not comfortable with doing this process yourself, let a shop take care of it. (But really even if you do it wrong you aren't really putting yourself or others in danger, you would just have to pay to have someone else do it anyway).

First, the parts used:
Tool: Xtra Seal Smart Sensor Pro+, 17-144
Sensor: Xtra Seal Smart Sensor One 17-43042

If you want the same silver metal stem as stock you can use this sensor. Otherwise I would say to use the cheaper rubber stem sensor, 17-43041, and buy the valve stem to match your wheels, gloss black 17-43047, matte black 17-43048, or chrome 17-43050. This is what I did with the gloss black stem to match my new wheels.

20221103_180509675_iOS.jpg


It is a very straight forward process after you update the tool, as the original software version does not have Rivian.

Once it is on you select the Make and Model, both R1T and R1S are listed. This also shows the frequency for the TPMS that is used (433 MHz).
20221103_174114032_iOS.jpg

20221103_174121938_iOS.jpg

20221103_174130307_iOS.jpg


Before I started, I scanned each sensor and took a picture of the ID and information in case I needed it in the future, and to use to cross check the new sensors to after programming.

It is very simple you just select scan sensor, hold the tool against the sidewall by the valve stem, and wait.
20221103_174446686_iOS.jpg

I labeled each picture with the position on the truck for reference later. (This is the original position as I have yet to do any tire rotations. I figured if needed later, I could reprogram to match these positions if for some reason it doesn't update after a tire rotation, though I am told it does).
20221103_174207632_iOS.jpg


Back to the regularly scheduled program. Select Copy Sensor
20221103_174736588_iOS.jpg

You will see the screen below. Just like scanning, hold the tool against the sidewall by the valve stem.
20221103_174818992_iOS.jpg

Once it is read you will see this screen.
20221103_174859106_iOS.jpg

Hit Enter to Program. You are given the option of programming in the cradle on the tool or wirelessly. I haven't installed the sensors yet, so the easiest way is in the cradle, but if yours are in wheels already you could use the wireless method.
20221103_191909554_iOS.jpg

Place the sensor in the cradle, slide the latch up and hit enter. It clears the sensor, programs and verifies.
20221103_174927711_iOS.jpg

The tool really walks you through everything. It even safeguards you from using the wrong sensor (see below).
20221103_174918217_iOS.jpg

If everything goes right you will see the screen below. Check the sensor ID to your old one, and if they match you are good to go.
20221103_174936378_iOS.jpg

You can also scan the new sensor to see the data stored.
20221103_175002174_iOS.jpg

I then marked the box with the location (again, I'm told it doesn't matter as the truck learns the location). Repeat for the other wheels. Don't forget your spare if you are going to be using a new one.

It really is simple and easy, and anyone that can use a phone or computer should be able to complete this yourself.
Sponsored

 

summer

Active Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2022
Threads
5
Messages
40
Reaction score
25
Location
Seattle
Vehicles
Tesla M3
This is very helpful, thanks for taking time to put such a detailed guide!
 

Aag12

Well-Known Member
First Name
B
Joined
Mar 17, 2022
Threads
9
Messages
144
Reaction score
140
Location
Denver
Vehicles
Na
Thank you for the guide!

Anyone in the Denver area willing to let me borrow the programming tool?
 

Aag12

Well-Known Member
First Name
B
Joined
Mar 17, 2022
Threads
9
Messages
144
Reaction score
140
Location
Denver
Vehicles
Na
Thank you for the guide!

Anyone in the Denver area willing to let me borrow the programming tool?
Well I ended up buying it. Anyone local is willing to borrow it if needed before I give to a friend. Should take 5 mins to clone the sensors
 
OP
OP
camaroz1985

camaroz1985

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Threads
9
Messages
521
Reaction score
528
Location
Carlisle, PA
Vehicles
R1T, ID.4
Occupation
Engineer
Well I ended up buying it. Anyone local is willing to borrow it if needed before I give to a friend. Should take 5 mins to clone the sensors
Anyone in or around PA who wants to borrow it, let me know as well.
 

Sponsored

Sattman69

Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Apr 1, 2022
Threads
0
Messages
84
Reaction score
61
Location
Denver
Vehicles
‘19 4Runner Limited, toytec lift & power brakes
Occupation
Consult/Project Manager
Thank you for the guide!

Anyone in the Denver area willing to let me borrow the programming tool?
@Aag12
I may take you up on your offer to borrow it when I get my truck: Jan-Feb 2023. 🤞
It will be worth a drink or two!
 

zefram47

Well-Known Member
First Name
Aaron
Joined
Feb 6, 2022
Threads
6
Messages
828
Reaction score
1,287
Location
Denver, CO
Vehicles
MINI Cooper SE, 4Runner, C6 Corvette GS
Occupation
Software Engineer
Anyone know if the Autel MX-Sensor works as well on the R1? They are generic/programmable 315/433 MHz sensors. I just got a set and cloned them for my 4Runner a couple months ago and they worked well. If they do, I have the TS401 tool and would be willing to help folks clone sensors (in Denver)...assuming the database gets updated for Rivian at some point.
 

Kuro-Rivian

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Threads
11
Messages
179
Reaction score
303
Location
Minneapolis
Vehicles
1969 BMW 2002
Anyone know if the Autel MX-Sensor works as well on the R1? They are generic/programmable 315/433 MHz sensors. I just got a set and cloned them for my 4Runner a couple months ago and they worked well. If they do, I have the TS401 tool and would be willing to help folks clone sensors (in Denver)...assuming the database gets updated for Rivian at some point.
They work, I have them on my truck. Autel has the R1S as an option in the database now and it works for the R1T as well.
 
Last edited:

windblowlc

Well-Known Member
First Name
Loc
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Threads
7
Messages
347
Reaction score
278
Location
WV
Vehicles
Porsche 911 Turbo S, Porsche Cayenne Turbo Coupe
They work, I have them on my truck. Autel has the R1S as an option in the database now and it works for the R1T as well.
Are you using the Autel TS408 or TS508 programmer to program for the Rivian?
 

Sponsored

windblowlc

Well-Known Member
First Name
Loc
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Threads
7
Messages
347
Reaction score
278
Location
WV
Vehicles
Porsche 911 Turbo S, Porsche Cayenne Turbo Coupe

Kuro-Rivian

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Threads
11
Messages
179
Reaction score
303
Location
Minneapolis
Vehicles
1969 BMW 2002
Are the sensors reliable installed on the Rivian? Any glitches after the install?
Never had any issues with autel sensors that I can recall. Works perfectly on the rivian, they synced up before I got out of driveway. Just speculating your looking to buy one? If so, any of the autel tpms devices should work fine. Out of the box the database will have to be updated first. Then it's takes just a few clicks and 30 seconds to do the clone.

Just a side note, only challenge I had was getting the database updated. The its600 updates via wifi and for whatever weird reason it didn't like me using my phone Hotspot. But autel tech sorted it out (though it took 30 minutes for them to figure it out!) .

And finally, local independent repair shops can often do the clone for you. Particularly if they sell tires.
 

windblowlc

Well-Known Member
First Name
Loc
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Threads
7
Messages
347
Reaction score
278
Location
WV
Vehicles
Porsche 911 Turbo S, Porsche Cayenne Turbo Coupe
Thanks for the reply! I'm looking to buy an Autel device to clone the Rivian TPMS for the 1EV Beadlock rims I ordered. Thinking of getting the TS508.
 

summer

Active Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2022
Threads
5
Messages
40
Reaction score
25
Location
Seattle
Vehicles
Tesla M3
Are you using the Autel TS408 or TS508 programmer to program for the Rivian?
I used TS408, it works well after upgrading the firmware
Sponsored
 

Sponsored

 
Sponsored
Top