Sponsored

Building a new home, charging advice

Redline

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1S
Clubs

We're going to be building a new custom home, and I want to have the house ready for both my R1S, and whatever future potential EV we might get to replace my fiancés Rav4 Hybrid.

Our first design meeting is in a month, and the builder already had said they usually build all their homes with dual charging ready to go. I did mention to him I'd probably want the Rivian wall charger for mine, and just have something ready to go for the future other vehicle.

I am very new to the charging dynamics of EVs, so I am curious to those here with more expertise. If you could start from scratch in a new home, what would you have for your charging solutions?

Thanks!
Sponsored

RBR1S

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S preorder holder; '14 JGC,'20 Subaru Crosstrek
Assuming you aren't doing an insane budget (you know, installing your own DCFC), a NEMA 14-50 for each car bay with all of them on their own master breaker (possibly even their own meter depending on the power company willingness), separate from the rest of the house's master breaker.

Why a 14-50 vs 6-50? You get the extra neutral which gives you more options in the future should a new standard be created and installation cost is minimal during build vs later. Also make sure that each 14-50 is setup with its own 60amp 50amp breaker due to the 80% rule. *ammended to 50, consult your electrician*

At some point, utility company may give better rates for home charging/off hours charging, which is why I recommend the separate meter option. The separate master breaker is to avoid any issues (say you were charging all of them and it caused too much draw, you only trip the breaker for the cars, not the entire house).

As for hard wiring, its an option but then you are limited to that charger until you hardwire a new one. Sockets give you more flexibility.

Just me and my simple thoughts.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Redline