Sponsored

AllInev

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Prius V, R1T
I actually have a titan brakerite electric over hydraulic system that I had on my last boat trailer, but I stuck a surge actuator back on it and kept it. I do have disc Brakes now.
I'm really curious why you switched back to surge brakes? I have surge brakes on my trailer right now and the ride feels very herky-jerky. I'm wondering if EOH will give me a smoother ride.
Sponsored

AllInev

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Prius V, R1T
Happy to if you want to swing by Marin! I think my setup is closer to 6500lbs

PXL_20221008_175525699.jpg
@Mousetrap I just purchased a used boat (Jeanneau NC 695) that came with a trailer that has surge brakes. I'm not happy with the trailering (feels very herky-jerky) on the highway. I have no experience with surge brakes, so I don't know if this jerkiness is normal or not.

What trailer to you have and what's the weight of your boat?

Mousetrap

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

@Mousetrap I just purchased a used boat (Jeanneau NC 695) that came with a trailer that has surge brakes. I'm not happy with the trailering (feels very herky-jerky) on the highway. I have no experience with surge brakes, so I don't know if this jerkiness is normal or not.

What trailer to you have and what's the weight of your boat?
Weights seem comparable - yours might outweigh mine by a couple hundred pounds, but nothing of significance at this scale and easily covered by gear choices. The trailer is an MFI tandem axle trailer, but the company doesn't exist anymore, so I don't know that it'll help at all.

Similar to the last poster, the Rivian is very smooth trailering & doesn't have any issue with it. I'm surprised to hear about the jerkiness - it might be worth swinging the trailer past a trailer/brakes place to have them check it out. It doesn't sound normal to me.

OP
OP
rydb

rydb

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 R1T LE
Clubs