First Name
A. J.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla XLR+2019, Lexus, Landcruiser, R1T
Occupation
EE Retired
To have one amorphous system that perceives the world and directly controls steering and brakes would be insanity, but I don’t think that’s what you’re suggesting.That would not pass a Functional Safety Assessment.
It's not that I am suggesting it. The Tesla cars are exactly that and they are considered the safest cars on the road. I'm not sure that what is meant by "amorphous" here. They are hardly that but there are loops within loops within loops if you get down to the motor/inverter controls.

Do we agree then that the perception/classification and control aspects are separate parts or functions within the system?
Of course but they can't be treated independently (you may have guessed I was a systems engineer). The job of a control system is to estimate the state of the system, compute the cost of being in other than a desired state and come up with a set of inputs to the system to move it towards the region in phase space where the costs are low (minimum). Clearly there are separate parts to this and some decoupling is possible. The Tesla FSD engine contains some Wiener filters (deconvolutions) and these need to be trained adaptively to minimize the error in estimated state and actual state. The optimum filters depend on the sensors and environment - not on how the cost functions are applied to the estimates made by these filters so the adaptation algorithms for them can be developed independently of the servo algorithms to some extent. But that dependence on the sensor suite cannot be neglected in terms of OP's question. If you are starting with a clean sheet of paper you might well start with algorithms that take sensor geometry, precision and noise model as parameters because you haven't any idea at this point what your sensor suite is going to be. Such algorithms ought to be able to work with any sensor suite and so data from Tesla could be used to