First Name
Travis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T, 2023 Mach-E
Occupation
Construction Management
I have some experience with regen deceleration in my Accord hybrid. I think the to get the greatest benefit Rivian will need at least 3 modes or regen ranges. One which truly coasts without regen to maximize efficiency, one with moderate regen to give middle ground between coasting, putting back energy and saving mechanical brakes, and one with high regen to reduce brake wear and reclaim energy when coasting is unwanted. I have found frequent driving situations where any one of the three is the best choice so hopefully Rivian will provide the means to do at least these three.
Sponsored

Gshenderson

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2015 Tesla S 85D, 2019 4Runner TRD Offroad, R1T
Ouch, so round trip of 64 miles uses 87 miles of range at 79mph. wouldn't that be 36% less than Tesla's stated range. This is something I'm going to need to get used to.
Pushing it at 80mph up that mountain uses a lot of juice! My 4Runner has to drop two gears to go that fast and is running all out.

cwoodcox

First Name
Corey
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2012 Ford Expedition
Occupation
Software Engineer
Ouch, so round trip of 64 miles uses 87 miles of range at 79mph. wouldn't that be 36% less than Tesla's stated range. This is something I'm going to need to get used to.
SLC to Park City is climbing whatā€™s probably the second most treacherous mountain pass with an interstate. I-80 through Parleyā€™s Canyon is a huge climb on the way up, Iā€™m surprised itā€™s not more tbh. No vehicle Iā€™ve ever driven could maintain a steady 79mph higher than like 3rd gear.

TessP100D

Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla 2017 P100D MS
Once you've gotten used to one-pedal driving, strong regen instead of coast, and no creep, it's hard to go back. I was skeptical (and grew up driving manual), but Tesla's approach won me over -